top of page

Navigating the waiver system: part 2

Updated: Dec 19, 2022

By: Courtney Brown

If you’re new to the waiver system, it can be overwhelming. This guide will help you understand all the different words, phrases, and acronyms you might come across. Most of the time you will see and hear these phrases and acronyms when starting the waiver system process. Some of these terms and acronyms may already be familiar or you may be hearing them for the first time. By the end of this article you will have a better understanding of what each of these terms mean and in no time you will be a pro!

AAW- Adult Autism Waiver

The AAW provides long-term services to individuals aged 21 years or older with autism spectrum disorder. The program allows individuals to participate and thrive within their community. Some of the eligibility requirements include: being 21 years or older, diagnosis of autism, medical evaluation, financials, and MA eligibility.

Community Living Waiver

The Community Living Waiver supports individuals with IDD and autism to help them function more independently in their homes and communities. The difference between a consolidated waiver and a community living waiver is that those who receive a community living waiver, live independently or with family. You can read more about this waiver eligibility criteria Community Living Waiver.

Consolidated Waiver

The consolidated waiver assists individua